My First Post


Well, I’ve taken the plunge.  I’ve decided that I need to become an active member of the world community and do my part in helping to renew education in America.  Time is limited: we either change or become obsolete.

The purpose of this blog is to promote thought provoking discussions about where we are in education and where we need to be.  If you are not already convinced that education and schools need to change then hopefully I can provide some evidence that that is the case.

You may have already watched these at some point but sometimes we need to see and hear things several times before we become convinced.

If that is not enough to convince you maybe you need to see it from a student’s perspective.

And how many schools allow students to use social media and devices like cell phones and ipods? Are teachers recognizing their value to instruction or do they see them as a distraction?   Isn’t banning these things equivalent to banning access to books?

4 Responses to “My First Post”

  1. Meghan Horbal Says:

    Love the title. As a resource teacher, my greatest frustration is the disparity of technology resources and expertise of classroom teachers. Some are ready and willing to use technology to improve instruction and motivate students, but are frustrated by the lack of resources and technical support when things go wrong. Others are completely unwilling to try. I look forward to hearing suggestions about what others are doing to motivate teachers to use technology instead of falling further behind the technological savvy of our students. I have only found success with technology when I am willing to do all the work, but have made little headway in convincing the classroom teachers to do the same.

  2. Welcome to the blogging community. I’ve added your blog to my RSS reader. I look forward to seeing what you create.

  3. I love the comment about banning cell phones is like banning books! I look forward to what you have to say about change in education.

  4. Cowpernicus Says:

    Great work Freducation. Happy to include your blog on my NEtvibes page. Look forward to tweets and blogs. I am on the same quest. The journey we all tend to has a destination yet no end. Freaky eh? Relinquishing to this concept is a huge step. Many educators (or is it schools?) need a finale just like an opera does. We must step back and say in an Einsteinian way, There is No End for the end is just the beginning. We are not selling a product anymore, it is not about how much we can squeeze into a mind. Instead it is about harnessing the inate power of the human mind for adapting, learning, and using new tools that will only allow us to do more of the same….. I am reminded of the 1.21 Gigawatts scene in Back to the Future(s). What took Dr. Brown 50 years to develop was completely revamped after one trip to the future…..he went from 1.21 Gigawatts, Plutonium and Lightning bolts to a rotten banana peel and a Coca-Cola can to power his machine. Technology changed but his curiousity and need for more learning never ended. What a great set of films…..This is turning into a blog post, sorry, read more at cowpernicus.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

